Getting rejected for a job you really wanted looks like this:
(that says ‘fail’ rather than ‘fall’. My handwriting’s a bit dodgy, as anyone unfortunate enough to have received written correspondence from me will attest to)
Anyway, I was quite crushed in this case, partly because the job was in Sheffield, which I’ve been missing ever since I graduated. I’ve asked if they’d consider me for any other roles, just in case. I suppose it was inevitable really, because the job required an MA in Translation Studies, which I do not have. I’m learning that breaking into translation is even more tricky than I expected. Well-intending people keep telling me to go freelance, but as an aspiring translator, you can’t really do that straightaway. One thing I learnt from working in Amsterdam was that knowing other languages is probably less than half the battle. You have to know your own language really well, and you have to be aware of all these translation conventions. In short, you can only really get going if you start off as an ‘in-house’ translator. And the problem with this is, most of them like you to have an MA. Which I don’t have, because I can’t afford it. IT IS A CIRCLE OF MISERY. There are some opportunities out there, but they all involve relocation, and mostly to the south-east. And I would relocate to the south-east if it meant getting a job, and indeed, I keep applying for those jobs, but I’d rather not live there, because I don’t know the area that well at all (despite my unfortunate birth in Colchester), and I don’t know anybody there.
OH SIGH. I’m going to a language careers fair next week, so maybe something good will come of that. And if anyone reading this happens to know of any translation jobs at all for graduates in the north of England (or actually anywhere, I can’t afford to be too picky), then do speak up. I’ll award you with a coveted shoutout on my widely-read blog. Or possibly a beautiful cartoon drawing of your choice.

