Yesterday was the funeral, and it went about as well as funerals can go, really. Parts of it were incredibly painful, as you'd expect, but overall it was something positive. I can see why funerals were invented. The service took place in a small church in the village of Wick, in Worcestershire.

(picture has been borrowed slightly)
It was a pretty church, and the vicar did well too, although he had problems pronouncing my sister Cerys's name (he'd been concentrating on trying to get my sister Niamh's name right, which he did manage). I didn't really want to go all the way back to Buckinghamshire at the end of the day. I'd had a surprisingly nice weekend of getting various things sorted out and seeing so many family members, and there are times when you feel so drained that it's nice to just go home and have something to eat and have ridiculous converations with your 10 year-old sister about whether or not you are a gangster. But it's fine now I'm back.
Work was alright too. It was less busy and stressful than in the last week, and I had a chance to look over old translations and find out the Finnish for 'panic disorder' and read over letters written in Irish by people possibly trying to make a political point (one that I'd probably agree with, as it happens). I was also very grown-up and worked out exactly how much money I'm going to have to live on after tax, bills, etc. It's not a huge amount, but it's enough. I'm not sure how much I'll be able to save and whether I'll be able to manage language/driving lessons too, but we'll see how it goes. I got a few items from my epic to-do list ticked off and while I still don't have broadband (BT exists only to make me sad), I've got a working dongle (heehee), so that'll be fine for a while.
I'm feeling generally a bit more on top of things. This is a very good feeling.

