And it's a Friday night, and I love living life on the edge:


Name: Katie
Birthday: April 7th, but I am trying to keep this quiet.
Place of Birth: Colchester, Essex, to my horror
Occupation: Project manager. I'm a bit scared by my job title.
Star sign: Aries.
Hair : Red, might become redder tomorrow if I get round to re-dying it.
Eyes : Greyish
Height : Hobbit 158cm
Weight : I haven't weighed myself in aaaaaages but I mostly consist of pizza.

Q: Do you have a nickname?
A: Cakey, Stroopwafelface, I can think of a couple of others

Q: How long have you kept a weblog?
A: I started quite late, in 2008 (I think) when I was 19 (maybe?). Maybe I should've had one as a teenager, but equally, I'm quite glad all my teenage angst is firmly locked away in my repressed, disturbed mind.

Q: Where do you live?
A: SOUTH BUCKINGHAMSHIRE. HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?

Q: But were you born there? If not, then where?
A: No, it is very clear to me that I'm not from round here. One thing about Essex- it's not posh.

Q: Tell us about your family
A: There's a lot of it.

Q: Describe your looks?
A: Bag of spiders?

Q: Tell us about your partner (or ideal partner if you haven't got one)?
A: Bag of spiders? I mean, vegetarian linguist with obsessive interest in dialectology and minimal interest in sustaining conversations?

Q: For a day out would you prefer, a theme park, a football game or spend the day in a bar?
A: THEME PARK YAY YAY YAY

Q: What do you do for a job?
A: I'm a project manager, I'm on LinkedIn and everything. I go between clients and translators and sort stuff out and obsess over deadlines.

Q: Who would you sound like if I called you on the phone?
A: Scared, I hate the phone.

Q: Religion – do you do it? If so what?
A: I totally do it, Catholic style.

Q: Politics – right, left or centre?
A: Left as, in spite of the above.

Q: Do you like it hot or cold?
A: Cold. If it refers to the weather and not coffee. I know very few people who share my 'I only like cold places' solidarity. I found Germany too warm. I go a bit mad and angry over 28 degrees C.

Q: What book are you reading at the moment?
A: I'm reading this weird one called Oxygen about anaesthesiology. I've made myself take a break from the Wallander books for a bit, for the good of my mental health.

Q: What was the last song on your iPod?
A: Lol iPod. Like I've got one of those.

Q: Describe your music collection?
A: Rammstein and the Pogues and the Dubliners and that's IT.

Q: SPORT – Yes or no?
A: Only archery and cross-country running, and neither of them for a few years now.

Q: Do you have a website/homepage? (leave link please)
A: https://72stroopwafels.wordpress.com/ ! ! !

Q: Do you have a celebrity crush?
A: This Sean Bean thing's getting out of hand. I do need a better, possibly younger celebrity crush.

Q: Do you have a celebrity hate?
A: I know Jeremy Clarkson's specifically designed for people like me to hate, so he's an obvious target and I shouldn't hate him, but…I do.

Q: Beer or wine?
A: CIDERRRRRRRR. Even if my dad says I pronounce it all West Country.

Q: Home or abroad?
A: Well, sometimes abroad can feel like home- Oldenburg did for a while- and non-abroad doesn't always feel like home. I'm not sure if I'm finished country-hopping though.

Q: Toothbrush – are you electric or manual?
A: Manual. Electric ones scare me a bit.

Q: Type of the property you live in?
A: Studio flat with loads of 'character' and not so much hot water, directly opposite two pubs and above a shop.

Q: What were your best subjects at school?
A: German and RE. I thought about doing theology at uni instead of languages.

Q: Spender or saver?
A: I'm naturally a saver (or hoarder, as I prefer to call it), because I don't really spend money on anything interesting, really. But at the moment I'm finding that I'm not really able to save anything, which is a bit sad, because that was kind of the whole point of reluctantly leaving education to find a job.

Q: What newspaper do you buy?
A: I read the Daily Mail online, 'ironically'. But I'm such a Guardian reader, with my hummus and Wallander and Sarah Lund.

Q: One of life's regrets is?
A: I wish I hadn't gone back to Oldenburg the last time. I should've listened to everyone. If I could go back in time to just after graduation, I'd do it. I'd have kept my savings, worked a bit more, properly thought about where and what I wanted to study, and gone back to university. It might not turn out to be such a massive regret in the long run, but I could kick myself. At least I learnt Plattdeutsch (and got surprisingly good final exam marks!).

Q: Coronation St or Eastenders?
A: CORRIE! I'm watching it now. Peter Barlow's hit the bottle YET AGAIN.

Q: Do you like questionnaires?
A: Yeah. A bit TOO much.

Q: Where do you buy your clothes?
A: I'm going to Slough tomorrow for that very purpose! For I'm running out of smart-casual stuff to wear at work and look like a dishevelled ship's captain more often than I can get away with.

Q: Cat, dog or goldfish?
A: SLOTH. I LOVE THEM.

Q: Rare, medium or well done?
A: ALIVE. SAVE THE ANIMALS.

Q: Do you drive?
A: No, it's one of my many shortcomings. I still haven't got round to learning and can't really afford it at the moment.

Q: Have you ever been in trouble with the law?
A: A policeman once told me to be careful as I crossed a road dressed as a dormouse. I was on a protest.

Q: Is there an afterlife?
A: I don't know, do I?

Q: Tell me something that scares you?
A: People thinking I've been impolite, public speaking, injections

Q: How would you describe your personality?
A: Introverted, slightly obsessive, and grumpy

Q: Tell us about some jobs you've had that you've loved?
A: I've worked in two factories, and really liked it both times. I like the fact that you can totally tune out and think about whatever you like all day, and still do your work. I was a bit sad when I realised that my favourite jobs have been in factories, because it did make me wonder why I got myself into so much studenty debt, but that was worth it, because I also love sociolinguistics. If only sociolinguistic factories existed. I would be the happiest person ever.

Q: Name some places you've lived?
A: I will tell you all of them, in order. Colchester, Bicester, Worcestershire, Sheffield, Oldenburg, Amsterdam, Sheffield again, Walsrode, Worcestershire again, Oldenburg again, and Buckinghamshire. Sheffield (final year of uni) was the best of them all.

Q: What kind of things do you enjoy on TV?
A: ONLY CORONATION STREET

Advertisements