I'd made an EPIC PLAN to visit all the best bookshops in London, and also to see the grave of Karl Marx. It's one of those things, like seeing Noam Chomsky, getting drunk with the Red Army choir, talking to the remaining Dubliners, that I've always wanted to do, and I felt I probably should, as a massive commie.

I made it in the end, but then they messed around with the Underground and closed off much of my planned route. And because I'm (still) a wee bit mental, I didn't sit down and work out an alternative route like a normal person. Well, I tried, but was overcome with feelings of terror. Then decided I couldn't be on the Underground any longer due to PANIC and ended up getting off at "Angel", whatever that is. This turned out to be all wrong, especially as I was trying to get vaguely to the middle of London. I went to just one bookshop, which only has quite a small range compared to what they've got on their website. It was a bit disappointing. I was fed up, mostly with myself, and headed back to Marylebone.
Luckily, Marylebone is also known as MINI SWEDEN (well, kind of. Sort of. There's more Swedishness there than average) and I discovered a Swedish church, pub, cafe and shop. I purchased beloved dillchips from the shop. THEN WAS SPOKEN TO IN SWEDISH OMG THE TERROR. The tragic thing was, I knew exactly what was being said because it was one of the few non-vegetable-related phrases we'd learnt in my class. I do believe the young lady was asking me whether my purchases were all I was intending to purchase. In my terrified/tired/fed up state though, I answered in English and then she looked slightly embarrassed and then she apologised and then I felt bad for causing her to apologise because you should not have to apologise for speaking Swedish in a Swedish shop. I had visions of my former Swedish teacher weeping with shame.
Luckily, I'm just about sane enough to know that this is actually nothing to worry about at all, and that I should get a life. YAY. It was still quite a nice day out. I'm just a bit grouchy because my sinuses are playing up again and I can't hear properly and just generally wasn't up to the challenge of London on a Saturday. And Also because I was woken at stupid o'clock last night by further idiots fighting outside my house. NEXT weekend I'm going paintballing which I am confident will be MUCH FUN.