I've been cheating on Swedish a bit. I've never been good at monogamy in terms of language-learning, and Memrise is just so good at leading me astray…yes, I have been having dalliances with Irish and Welsh. Besides, I've learnt 545/1000 Swedish words and phrases and I need an interlude.
I wasn't too impressed with the 'survival Welsh' course I took (incidentally, under what possible circumstances would you need to speak Welsh to survive? Being held hostage by Welsh nationalists?). I knew most of the 30 or so words and phrases the course covered, and the ones I didn't know where just tricky, like the ways of apologising in the north and south Welsh variants. The course didn't break down the different words in the phrases, which left me all lost, and the course didn't come with any sound files, which is the bit I most want to work out as I'm terrible at pronouncing Welsh. I shall find a better course.
However, I'm enjoying the Irish course I'm signed up to. Like with Welsh, it's one of those things I've always wanted to learn at some distant, unspecified point in the future, but recently my old age has been catching up with me and I thought there's no time like the present, and the chances of me getting Irish/Welsh confused with Swedish are slim.
The course is great because it firstly teaches you a small handful of nouns and adjectives, like boy, girl, man, woman, red, blue, beautiful, clean, and then teaches you how to put them into a sentence. So I learnt:
Tá an chailín álainn
[is the girl beautiful]: The girl is beautiful
*for mysterious Celtic reasons, the word cailín gets an 'h' in this case, as do other feminine nouns. I have decided not to worry about why this is, because all my attempts to learn Welsh have failed whenever I have to start learning about 'soft nasal mutations', and I worry that this is related.

And:
Tá an crann glas
[is the tree green]: The tree is green

THEN I learnt negation, and how that works in a sentence:
l an carr dubh
[not the car black]: The car is not black

THEN I learnt the words for this, that and yonder, as well as how to add 'very' to an adjective (an-), and where they go in a sentence:

Tá an blá sin oráiste
[is the flower this orange]: This flower is orange

Níl an bhó siúd donn.
[is the cow yonder brown]: The cow yonder is brown.

Of course, this filled me with joy, and with my tiny collection of words, I started to create nonsense, but (hopefully) grammatically correct nonsense. I can say things like Tá an bhó seo an-ghlan/álainn (this cow is very clean/beautiful) and Tá an bhean óg sin an-oráiste (that young woman is very orange). Yes- I can say completely nonsensical things in another language after only a couple of hours of study. I think this is an achievement. If I'd have tried to learn this from a teach yourself book, I wouldn't have got anywhere, certainly not grammar-wise. The only thing is, I wish there were more sound files to go with it, because learning how to pronounce Irish seems to be twice as difficult as actually learning the words. Like the word for city is cathair. I'm pretty sure that's not pronounced cat-hair.
I might ask the fit Irish bouldering guys to advise me on this.

