Rejoice! I passed my theory test. I know that's the driving bit everyone says is really easy, but I find roughly 97% of driving difficult (with the possible exception of reversing round a corner, which is fine), and also, being from the year 1847, I don't really know anything about cars. So I'm happy that's out of the way. Been all the way to Morpeth and back already. The fact that I had to get up at 6.30am to get the bus to Morpeth is helping to convince me that maybe, actually, driving would be beneficial to me.
The lessons have been going a bit better too. After all my faffing about trying to convince myself that it's fine and I mustn't panic etc., the best way I found of not being scared was just thinking 'It doesn't matter'. I'm good at being a careful driver (generally), so those bits I do naturally, and anything on top of that – it's not really the end of the world if I make a mistake. So with this attitude, I have been achieving Great Things (well, y'know, things). Maybe actual test in early spring, maybe. Maybe. Do not know. Not sure.

Svetlana the allotment is well, I think, I'm going over to check on her later. There's just not much you can do in December. Irrationally worried that all my enthusiasm for growing stuff will suddenly leave me. I doubt it will though. Hoping to go to a Potato Day in Durham next month, although it's quite a way to go to buy rare and beautiful tubers, and also, it's not even in the centre of Durham so I'm going to have to work out faffy transport arrangements (if I could but 'drive'). Then again, I love potatoes to an almost worrying extent, so I might just go for it.

Trolling home for Christmas, as the song goes, after work on 24th. Must remember to pack. I've got a nice long break this year, which will hopefully be made of festive rainbows. Trolling to Lancashire to see Extended Clan. Trolling to Hereford to see friends. Possibly even going to SWANSEA to see little TwoDots. Quite the culture shock after barely leaving Northumberland this year. Hope it's warm in all these exotic locations.

